I love memes. Or, I like memes that I find interesting. So I’ve been tagged by Todd; he encouraged anyone interested to play along. Did I notice that it’s an old meme? Yes, I did. 😉

1. What is the best classic you were “forced” to read in school (and why)?
2. What was the worst classic you were forced to endure (and why)?
3. Which classic should every student be required to read (and why)?
4. Which classic should be put to rest immediately (and why)?
5. **Bonus** Why do you think certain books become classics?

My answers

1) To kill a Mockingbird. It was in Grade 11. I had English Second Language HG and this was our prescribed book. I wasn’t too pleased; it looked awfully boring. But as I read the story I became very interested in the characters. I don’t think I ever finished the book, even though I answered many exam questions on it. But I saw the movie in 2006 and might reread, and finish, the book eventually.

2) The Lord of the Flies. I’m sure it’s not an awful book. But it did nothing for my 16-year-old self. I’ll try to read it again someday but it won’t be soon. Perhaps I could not grasp the many metaphors. But I believe one shouldn’t look for metaphors in a novel; they will find you. Whatever happened to reading for fun?

3) The Color Purple. It’s not one of the easiest books to read. But once you are used to the dialect and the writing style it is enjoyable. I loved the writing. The chapters also helped with my short attention span. I blame the interweb for my short attention span. Reading this book on the bus to work every day was a treat. I didn’t want to read it anywhere else; it’s a short(ish) book and reading it at home would’ve shortened my reading pleasure.

4) Ulysses. Honestly, most people buy this book when they’re 16. Well, I did. And then they hope to finish it soon. It’s 10 years later and I haven’t even progressed beyond the first two pages. I would like to hear from anyone who has finished this tome. Did it impress you? Is there substance to the hype?

5) They’re ‘universal’; people can relate to their ideas and actions . They might not become popular in their lifetime; perhaps they only become popular after some years. But then someone picks it up, reads it and it becomes lost in the world or worlds conjured up by the writer. Word of mouth might spread and it becomes popular.

