At first I thought I’m in love. I thought it divine. I never thought I’d meet someone as articulated, concise and downright cute. I was sure it would be one of my very best relationships, ever. Alas, he wasn’t critical enough of my mistakes. Sure, he understood words such as bakkie, legotla and koeksister. You know, “all those words that give South African English its specific flavour”. Or so I thought. He is pretty two-faced, actually. Claiming to understand it, while not actually doing so. And his constant use of Americanisms becomes irritating. I don’t mind American spelling much but far prefer British English.

I knew it was too good to be true, so I am deciding on uninstalling the Firefox English (South African) dictionary. I’ll stick it out with the default version for now.

